The VAR Review controversy in Premier league on goal, penalty etc

Premier league

Video Assistant Referee causes controversy every week in the Premier League, but how are decisions made, and are they correct?

After each weekend we take a look at the major incidents to examine and explain the process both in terms of VAR protocol and the Laws of the Game.

Kai Havertz’s disallowed goal for Arsenal at Aston Villa, and why Gabriel Jesus’ penalty claim was so different to the VAR spot kick given to Crystal Palace against Liverpool. Plus, the rest of the big talking points.

Kai Havertz thought he had equalised in the 90th minute, firing home from close range after a battle with Matty Cash. As soon as the ball crossed the line, referee Jarred Gillett blew his whistle for handball against the Arsenal forward. The VAR, Michael Salisbury, checked to see if it was the correct decision.

The var causses controversy in the Premier league

Arsenal boss Mikel Arteta simply repeated “clear and obvious” in his post match news conference,

Yet for this decision that doesn’t come into it. Accidental attacking handball is an automatic offence if by the goal scorer; there’s no subjective consideration for the referee or the VAR to take into account.

It was a superb spot by Gillett. Yet at a time when officials get criticised for relying too much on the video official, Gillett was accused of “guessing” rather than getting the praise for an excellent on-field decision. Recent controversies have eroded trust,

But there’s plenty of other reasons to legitimately bash VAR and refereeing rather than on a correct call.

After the ball was first played by Havertz, it hit Cash on the upper part of his arm. This was too high for any handball offence.

The ball then appears to touch the arm of Havertz, though there’s no conclusive video evidence of this.

The ball might then have brushed the hand of Cash. A penalty isn’t going to be awarded for the ball rebounding onto a defender from close range

When their arm position is expected and not outstretched away from the body.

It isn’t the same as the penalty William Saliba conceded against Chelsea:

The ball hit the France international from close range, but he was blocking a header with his left arm fully extended away from his body.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn & Youtube.

To Top