Are Manchester United still contenders for the PL title?

Are Manchester United still contenders for the PL title?

Under the guidance of Sir Alex Ferguson, Manchester United made their legendary reputation. They won 13 PL titles and 2 Champions League among many trophies. They have failed to win the league since 2013 and have only won the Europa League. 

The club has gone on to hire numerous managers but failed to win the CL or the PL. 

As of now, the situation is the same as before. Manchester United are not a title-contending team under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer. Despite their past teams not being good enough, it is clear currently that a new manager is needed.

 Under a manager with good guidance and backing from the Glazers, United can contend again.

Manchester United managers over the years

After Sir Alex Ferguson retired,4 managers took over. 

David Moyes

In 2014, Moyes left Everton to join Manchester United. In his first game, United won their 20th Community shield. But soon he was fired since he could not lead them to CL qualification. 

Ryan Giggs took over as interim manager for 5 games. During this period United finished 7th on the table. ( their worst position ever )

Louis Van Gaal

He was appointed as Moyes’s permanent replacement. Van Gaal brought a comparatively better period for The Red Devils. 

He made prominent big-name signings. Some failed but some were very helpful.

Van Gaal signed Falcao on the deadline day. The fans expected a lot but Radamel disappointed them. He only amassed 4 goals in 30 appearances, leading the club to sell him later on. 

The fans were excited mainly for Angel Di Maria. He was even given the legendary number 7 but failed to prove his worth. He suffered a hamstring injury and the club sold him to PSG after one year.

Signings like Ander Herrera and Luke Shaw helped Van Gaal at United. Luke Shaw is currently still great for the club. 

Manchester United under Van Gaal made a return to Champions League in their first season. In the second season, they were 5th but won the FA cup after 12 years. He was then sacked in 2017 after which Mourinho took over.

Jose Mourinho

Jose won the Europa League and the EFL Cup with Manchester United in his first season. Lack of silverware in his second season led to the board sacking him in 2018.

The Manchester United board will not tolerate inconsistent managers. But with Ole the case is different. 

Do follow us on Twitter for more updates.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top