Manchester City still projected to have a strong bench after Jesus and Sterling’s exits

Manchester City

Gabriel Jesus and Raheem Sterling have left Manchester City, still, City would have a strong team when they start their 2022-23 campaign.

City’s starting XI is taking a formidable shape before they start with their pre-season tour.

Erling Haaland and Julian Alvarez are said to be the pivot of the attacking setup for City this season.

The defending Premier League champions have made quite substantial gains from the transfer market this time. They have signed key players like Haaland, and Alvarez and strengthened their midfield by adding Kalvin Phillips from Leeds. Stefan Ortega has also been signed as a backup keeper to Ederson.

These signings have come at the back of exits of seasoned Fernandinho, Sterling, and Jesus. While Jesus and Sterling moved to Arsenal and Chelsea respectively, Fernandinho moved back to Brazil.

Therefore, this transfer spree has been termed significant by transfer pundits. As City in recent years have not gone for so many transfers. City have a complete overhaul and there would be many new faces on the team.

On the other hand, the exits of stars like Sterling and Jesus are thought to put a dent in City’s title hopes for this season.

Manchester City would have a world-class bench for this season

If the starting lineup takes this shape: Ederson, Dias, Walker, Stones, Cancelao, Rodri, De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva, Foden, Mahrez, Haaland.

This would mean Ortega, Phillips, Gundogan, Laporte, Zinchenko, Alvarez, Ake, and Grealish remaining on the bench. This is till now, there could be another player either an academy graduate or a new signing.

This bench easily has the three most talented attacking players. Moreover, there are others who could stimulate others to the more attacking position.

Therefore, claims of lack of depth should absolutely be dispelled over here.

Moreover, this bench is said to have a value of around £330million.

Follow us on Twitter for more football updates.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top