Injury threat for Chelsea against Plymouth Argyle

Premier League player

In a recent press conference, Chelsea coach Thomas Tuchel has announced that he will be without three players in their match against League One side Plymouth Argyle.

English trio Ben Chilwell, Ruben Loftus Cheek and Reece James won’t be participating in the FA Cup clash.


The London side has featured in the last two finals of the world’s oldest cup competition. However, they came out as second-best on both occasions. 

In 2020, they lost against London rivals Arsenal 2-1 after a Pierre Emerick Aubameyang brace cancelled out an early Christian Pulisic opener.

And in 2021 Leicester City triumphed against them after a late strike from Youri Tielemans. After two losses in a row, Tuchel would be eager to go one step further this year and land the trophy.

Plymouth Argyle came off with a shock win against Championship side Birmingham City in the previous round.


Thomas Tuchel confirmed in his press conference that they will be without the English trio who are out with injuries. On top of that Chelsea will be without the services of Thiago Silva and Christian Pulisic who are doubtful after having featured for their respective countries.

When asked about the game, Tuchel had this to say:

“Not Reece James and not Ben Chilwell. Not Ruben Loftus-Cheek. They are still injured. Everyone else was training except Thiago and Pulisic. Everyone else was there.”

“We respect the game tomorrow. For them it is an opportunity to show and have nothing to lose. So we have to be prepared for that and, of course, we have a week where we play FA Cup, semi-final and maybe a final in the Club World Cup.”


Once again Kepa Arrizabalaga starts in goal following the absence of Edouard Mendy who will be taking part in the AFCON Final for his Senegal side.

Goalkeepers: Kepa Arrizabalaga, Marcus Bettinelli.

Defenders : Antonio Rudiger, Thiago Silva, Trevoh Chalobah, Andreas Christensen, Malang Sarr, Marcos Alonso, Cesar Azpilicueta, Lewis Hall, Xavier Mbuyamba.

Midfielders: Mateo Kovacic, Saul Niguez, N’Golo Kante, Jorginho, Ross Barkley, Mason Mount, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Harvey Vale, Xavier Simons, Charlie Webster.

Forwards: Hakim Ziyech, Kai Havertz, Timo Werner, Christian Pulisic, Callum Hudson-Odoi, Romelu Lukaku, Jude Soonsup-Bell.

Follow us on Twitter for more updates.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top